Canadian Consulting Engineer

Engineers Canada names 2019 Award Winners

April 23, 2019

This year's Gold Medal winner is Catherine Karakatsanis, P.Eng., of Morrison Hershfield, and the Award for an Engineering Project goes to the Inuvik Tuktoyaktuk Highway.

Engineers Canada has released the names of the eight winners of its annual Engineers Canada Awards, which includes the Gold Medal Award being presented to consulting engineer executive Catherine Karakatsanis, P.Eng., COO of Morrison Hershfield Group Inc.


Catherine Karakatsanis, P.Eng.

Karakatsanis holds the distinction of having led a provincial regulator (Professional Engineers Ontario), provincial advocacy body (Ontario Society of Professional Engineers) and the national organization (Engineers Canada).

This year’s National Award for an Engineering Project or Achievement is being presented to the Inuvik Tuktoyaktuk Highway Project, winner of the Engineering a Better Canada Award at the 2018 Canadian Consulting Engineering Awards. An Award shared by teams from Tetra Tech and Stantec.

The Engineers Canada Awards recognize engineering excellence and the recipients’ outstanding contributions to their communities, to their profession, and to the safety and well-being of Canadians.


The 2019 Engineers Canada Award recipients are:

  • Catherine Karakatsanis, P.Eng.
    Gold Medal Award
  • Jennifer Drake, P.Eng.
    Young Engineer Achievement Award
  • Dennis K. Paddock, P.Eng.
    Meritorious Service Award for Professional Service
  • Helen Wojcinski, P.Eng.
    Meritorious Service Award for Community Service
  • Bradley Buckham, P.Eng.
    Medal for Distinction in Engineering Education
  • Inuvik Tuktoyaktuk Highway Project
    National Award for an Engineering Project or Achievement
  • Mae L. Seto, P.Eng.
    Award for the Support of Women in the Engineering Profession
  • Zenon Kripki
    Gold Medal Student Award

The recipients will be honoured during a ceremony to be held on Thursday, May 23, 2019, at the Fairmont Château Frontenac in Quebec City, Quebec.


Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories