Canadian Consulting Engineer

About Canadian Consulting Engineer Awards

About the Awards

The Canadian Consulting Engineering Awards are given to projects that demonstrate a high quality of engineering, imagination and innovation. Held annually since 1969, the awards are the most prestigious mark of recognition for consulting engineers in Canada.

The awards are a joint program of the Association of Consulting Engineering Companies – Canada (ACEC) and Canadian Consulting Engineer magazine.


Up to 20 Awards of Excellence are presented from a variety of categories.

In addition, five Special Awards, designated by the jury from projects entered in all categories, are presented:

  • Schreyer Award (Prix Schreyer). This is the highest honour and is presented annually to the best technical entry.
  • Tree for Life Award (Prix Un Arbre à Aimer). The award is given annually to a project that demonstrates outstanding environmental stewardship.
  • Ambassador Award (Prix Ambassadeur). Presented to a project constructed or executed outside Canada that best showcases Canadian engineering expertise.
  • Engineering a Better Canada Award (Prix de l’ingénierie pour un Canada meilleur). Presented to a project that best showcases how engineering enhances the social, economic or cultural quality of life of Canadians.
  • Outreach Award (Prix Rayonnement). Presented for a company’s role in donating their time and/or services for the benefit of a community or group either in Canada or on the international stage. For example, it would recognize a company’s role in alleviating suffering, promoting social awareness, providing education, work, etc.
    The winning projects and companies are presented at a gala dinner in Ottawa in the late fall. Details are published in the October-November issue of Canadian Consulting Engineer.

Entries are solicited in January of each year. Entry forms, criteria, etc. are published at The Stage 1 deadline is generally in March.

The award-winners are selected by a board of eminent Canadian engineers and others who are not directly employed in the consulting engineering business sector.

History / Timeline

1969 The Awards are inaugurated jointly by Canadian Consulting Engineer magazine (Carson Morrison, Editor) and the Association of Consulting Engineers of Canada — now the Association of Consulting Engineering Companies-Canada/l’Association des firmes d’ingéenieurs-conseils- Canada (ACEC/AFIC).

1981 First Schreyer Award given.

1997 Categories reorganized to system basically in place today.

1999 Changes made: (i) Window of eligibility was expanded to include projects that were completed in last three years (instead of two). (ii) At least one of the entering firms now had to be a member of ACEC/AFIC.

2003 Awards of Merit dropped.

2008 First Tree for Life/Un Arbre à Aimer Award given for outstanding environmental stewardship.

2013 Awards of Excellence increased to 20 from 12. Three additional Special Awards made: Ambassador Award, Engineering a Better Canada Award & Outreach Award.


Les Prix canadiens du génie-conseil, remis chaque année depuis 1969, sont décernés pour des projets qui se sont démarqués par la grande qualité de leur ingénierie, ainsi que par leur imagination et leur innovation. Un prix canadien du génie-conseil constitue la marque de reconnaissance la plus prestigieuse pour une firme d’ingénieurs-conseils au Canada.

Le programme des prix est une initiative conjointe de l’Association des firmes d’ingénieurs-conseils – Canada (AFIC) et de la revue Canadian Consulting Engineer.

Jusqu’à 20 prix d’excellence sont décernés à la discrétion des juges.

Des prix spéciaux sont également octroyés parmi les projets soumis dans toutes les catégories. Ces prix spéciaux comprennent :

  • Le Prix Schreyer. Il s’agit du plus grand honneur décerné annuellement pour le meilleur projet technique.
  • Le Prix Un Arbre à Aimer. Ce prix est décerné annuellement à un projet qui s’est particulièrement démarqué au plan de l’environnement.
  • Le Prix Ambassadeur – présenté pour un projet construit ou réalisé à l’extérieur du Canada et qui démontre l’expertise canadienne en ingénierie
  • Le Prix de l’Ingénierie pour un Canada Meilleur – présenté pour un projet qui démontre le mieux comment l’ingénierie améliore la qualité de vie sociale, économique ou culturelle des Canadiens
  • le Prix Rayonnement – présenté à une firme qui donne de son temps ou des services pour le bénéfice d’une collectivité ou d’un groupe au Canada ou à l’étranger.


Doug Picklyk, Editor
Canadian Consulting Engineer magazine
111 Gordon Baker Road, suite 400
Toronto, Ont. M2H 3R1
Tel. 416-510-5119,
John D. Gamble, CET, P.Eng.
President and CEO
Association of Consulting Engineering Companies-Canada (ACEC/AFGC)
130 Albert Street, Suite 420
Ottawa, ON K1P 5G4
Tel: (613) 236-0569,