Canadian Consulting Engineer

Technical updates: ground source heat pump systems, green roofs, residential lighting and indoor air quality

April 5, 2016

CSA has published the first edition of the bi-national ANSI/CSA C448 Series – 16, Design and installation of ground source heat pump systems for commercial and residential buildings. The 211-page standard supersedes the previous editions published in 2013 and 2002 under the title, Design and installation of earth energy systems. The new edition includes vertical, horizontal, closed and open loop systems, etc.  For more information, click here.

The organization Green Roofs for Healthy Cities (GRHC) is certifying individuals who pass an examination in the systems. It says an accredited Green Roof Professional (GRP) designation is “an indicator that an individual has achieved a specific knowledge level with regard to green roof design, project management, installation and maintenance.” The designation was introduced in 2009, and so far 700 people have accquired the title. Certification involves three full-day courses in design and installation, waterproofing and drainage, and green roof plants and growing media. Applicants have to be members of GRHC. For more information, click here.

ASHRAE is proposing to include lighting requirements for high-rise dwellings in its energy standard 90.1. Fourteen addenda to ANSI/ASHRAE/IES Standard 90.1-2013, Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings, are open for public comment until April 24. They include addendum do.  Currently, lighting in high-rise residential buildings is exempt in both Standard 90.1 and ANSI/ASHRAE/IES Standard 90.2.  For more information, click here.

Multifamily units in all types of buildings are now covered by ASHRAE’s residential indoor air quality standard 62.2-2016, Ventilation and Acceptable Indoor Air Quality in Residential Buildings. Before now multi-family residential buildings of four storeys or more came under Standard 62.1, Ventilation for Indoor Air Quality. Common areas of buildings of four storeys or more remain under Standard 62.1. For more information, click here.





Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories