Canadian Consulting Engineer

New faces head Canadian engineering organizations

June 20, 2002
By Canadian Consulting Engineer

It's late spring and the season for appointing new officials.

It’s late spring and the season for appointing new officials.
Hollis Cole, P.Eng. head of the consulting engineering firm ADI Group of Fredericton, New Brunswick, has been elected President of the Canadian Council of Professional Engineers (CCPE) for 2002-2003. The CCPE is the national umbrella organization of the licensing and regulatory bodies for engineers across Canada.
A civil engineer, Cole joined ADI Group in 1974, and became director of the firm in 1986 and president in 1994-96. ADI has won several Canadian Consulting Engineering awards for innovation, including for its membranes that are used to cover and control odour from sewage treatment plants. The company has offices throughout Atlantic Canada as well as in New Hampshire and Australia.
In Quebec, Jean-Robert Larouche, ing. has been made president of the Association of Consulting Engineers of Quebec, or Association des Ingenieurs-Conseils du Quebec (AICQ). M. Laroche has been president of the multidisciplinary firm Cegertec Inc. since 1990. Previously he worked with SNC-Lavalin, Techmat, and Groupe LMB.
Consulting Engineers of British Columbia elected their 2002-2003 Board of Directors at its Annual General Meeting on May 30. Chris Newcomb, P.Eng., president of McElhanney Consulting Services is the new CEBC president. Other members of the board are Ian Stewart of EBA, Allan Russell of Trow, Peter Lighthall of AMEC Earth & Environmental, Steve Fleck of AMEC Engineering, Mike Okun of Northwest Hydraulics, Gordon Aalhus of Pomeroy Engineering, Mark Dhillon of 1st Team Engineering, Frank Belfry of Kerr Wood Leidal, John Boyle of Dayton & Knight, Tom Lowe of Urban Systems, Sid Siddiqui of Keen Engineering, Andy North of Earth Tech, Rob Harmer of Cochrane Engineering and John Peddle of CWMM.
In Ontario, John Sutherns, P.Eng., chair of McCormick Rankin, was made Chair of Consulting Engineers of Ontario. Vice chair is Terry Hardy of the Ainley Group, and secretary treasurer is Geoff Pound of Mitchell Pound & Braddock. Past chair is Norm Huggins of CH2M Hill. CEO’s 2002-2003 board of directors includes Jim Beechinor of AMEC Earth & Environmental, Kevin Farbridge of Smith and Andersen, Doug Gamsby of Gamsby and Mannerow, John Long of LEA Consulting, Bruce Miller of Totten Sims Hubicki, Anne Poschmann of Golder, Brian Sirbovan of the RPA, Vlad Stritesky of Trow and Murray Thompson of URS Cole, Sherman.


Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories