Canadian Consulting Engineer

Canadians among 2018 ASHRAE Award recipients

January 21, 2018

Two Canadians were named Fellows (Andreas Athienitis and Jeffrey Siegel), and two Canadian projects were recognized with Technology Awards.

CHICAGO – ASHRAE, the global organization representing building system design and industrial processes professionals, has recognized outstanding achievements and contributions of members to furthering energy efficiency in the heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration industry during the group’s 2018 Winter Conference being held in Chicago.

Among the honours doled out at the event, ASHRAE recognized 25 members and elevated the group to the grade of Fellow, a membership grade that recognizes members who have attained distinction and made substantial contributions in HVAC&R such as education, research, engineering design and consultation, publications and mentoring. Included among the 25 members named to Fellow were two Canadians:

  • Andreas Athienitis, Ph.D., Eng., professor, BCEE Department & NSERC/Hydro Quebec Industrial Research Chair and Director, Centre for Zero Energy Building Studies, Concordia University, Montreal.
  • Jeffrey Siegel, Ph.D., professor, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Toronto.

The ASHRAE Technology Awards, recognizing outstanding achievements by ASHRAE members who have successfully applied innovative building designs, includes winning projects selected from entries earning regional awards. Two Canadian projects were selected among six First-place recipients for 2018:

  • Roland Charneux, Pageau Morel et Associés, Inc. Montreal, Quebec, Canada, first place, new Commercial Buildings category, Mountain Equipment Co-Op Head Office, Vancouver, British Columbia. The building is owned by the Mountain Equipment Co-Op.
  • Samuel Paradis and, Yves St-Georges, P.Eng., SNC – Lavalin, Quebec, Canada, first place, New Public Assembly category, Amphithéâtre Multifonctionnel de Québec (Centre Videotron), Québec. The building is owned by Ville de Québec.

More information on the Awards can be found at



Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories